• Medication at School

    Medication should be given at home whenever possible.  However, if a medication must be administered during school hours (prescription or over-the-counter), proper authorization must be provided to the school which is as follows:

    • Written permission using the school district's" Medication Authorization Form", that both parent/guardian and the student's licensed healthcare provider must complete.  The medication must be brought in by the parent in the original pharmacy labeled container.  In addition to the medication authorization form, treatment plans are required to be completed by the healthcare provider and signed by the parent/guardian for the following health concerns 

                                  Food Allergy     Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Emergency Care Plan

                                  Asthma             Asthma Management Healthcare Plan

     

                                  Seizures             Seizure Action Plan

     

                                  Diabetes            Diabetes Medical Management Plan

    • Students are not permitted by law to carry or self-administer medication, with the exception of insulin, asthma inhalers and emergency epinephrine, and then only if written authorization for this self-administration is provided by the parent/guardian and the student’s healthcare provider.   

     

    Required Physicals

     

     A physical exam is required for all students entering Ridgefield Public Schools for the first time

    (Pre-kindergarten, Kindergarten and new students entering other grades for the first time).  The exam must be provided upon entry to the school and must be completed by the student's healthcare provider within 365 days of their start date. 

    The Physical Exam Form  is completed for grades Pre-k through 12th grade 
    The Athletic Physical and Health History  (can be completed in lieu of the physical form for students in 7-12 grades who will be participating in school sponsored sports.) 


    Required Immunizations


    The New Jersey School Immunization Requirements  are mandatory for school entrance/attendance in New Jersey, and proper documentation of these immunizations must be provided to the school nurse upon enrollment.  Booster documentation will be required according to requirements based on age and grade level. 

     

    Illness

     

    A child's ability to learn, perform and behave can depend on how a child feels physically.  We ask that sick children remain at home if their illness is, or may be, contagious and could cause illness in other children.  We ask your cooperation in informing the school nurse of any known illness as soon as possible so we can detect similar illness in others.  If your child becomes ill at school, you are responsible for picking up your child.  If you cannot pick up your child you must have alternative pick-up arrangements. 

     

     

     When to Keep Your Child Home

     

    Please keep your child home if they show any signs or symptoms of illness that is communicable/ contagious. 

    Here are some guidelines:

     

    Temperature:   Your child must remain home if he/she has a fever over 100.0, they must remain fever free for 24hrs without the use of fever reducing medication before returning to school.

     

    Diarrhea or Vomiting:  Your child should be free of diarrhea or vomiting for 24 hours before returning to school

     

    Contagious Disease/Condition:  Your child must remain home when he/she shows symptoms of a contagious disease such as any communicable disease, including but not limited to strep throat, conjunctivitis (pink eye), flu, impetigo, ringworm,  A Doctors note to return will be required for your child to return with any of these suspected conditions

     

    Head lice:  Anyone can get head lice.  Having lice does not indicate poor hygiene.  Head lice do not cause disease, but are a time-consuming nuisance.  If the school nurse finds evidence of head lice, the child will be sent home at the end of the day for the parent to administer treatment.  Family doctors, the school nurse, and pharmacists can provide treatment advice.  Upon completion of this treatment, your child will be re-examined by the school nurse before returning to class. School policies indicate that nits (eggs) must be removed before returning to school.  This is a time consuming but necessary task that helps ensure that the head lice do not spread to others.  Please call the school nurse if you suspect head lice, so other siblings and children with close personal contact may be checked.

     

     24hr Fever Rule

     
     
     
    If you child has been sent home from school with symptoms of illness.  Ridgefield Public Schools have a policy in place to ensure the health and safety of all students and states that students who exhibit vomiting, diarrhea, or a fever > 100 must be excluded from school.  Re- admittance is allowable as follows:
     
    •  Free of fever (<100) for at least 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing medications such as acetaminophen or ibuprofen.  Common trade names of products containing these medications include, but are not limited to Tylenol, Motrin, and Advil.  All aspirin-containing products should be avoided.
    • Food and liquids have been tolerated for at least 24 hours without vomiting and/or diarrhea, and without the use of medication to relieve symptoms.
    • Students diagnosed with contagious illness that in being treated with prescription medication, must complete a minimum of 24 hours of the prescribed dosage prior to returning to school.
    DOCTOR'S NOTED DOES NOT SUPERSEDE THE "24 HOURS RULE"
     
    If the guidelines indicated above have been met, you child can return to school.
     
    If your child is absent three consecutive days, a doctor's note is required. 
     
      

    Please notify the school by 8:00 if your child is going to be absent, follow up with a note sent to the school nurse explaining the absence.  A doctor's note is required for an absence of three or more days.  If your child has been injured, visited the ER, or has been hospitalized please contact the school nurse.  A doctor's note with any limitations or modifications will be required to return to school.

     
     

    WHEN DO YOU NEED A DOCTOR'S EXCUSE FOR AN INJURY

     
     
     Any injury that prohibits a student from functioning normally in the school setting must be medically addressed.
     
     Your child will need a doctor's excuse to come back to school if he/she had been injured in gym/sports/car accident, school accident etc. that required him/her to be seen by a doctor.
     
    •  If your child has an injured ankle and can't walk, injured shoulder and can't move it, etc. they must be seen by their doctor to rule out a fracture or injury that could be aggravated in school.
    • If they hit their head and are having headaches, or dizziness, they should be seen to rule out concussion, etc.
    • If your child is assigned crutches or a wheelchair, they must have a note from the doctor stating it is ok to be in school with them.
    • If your child has crutches/ wheelchair and has a class upstairs, they will be issued an elevator pass.  Students on crutches are not allowed to use the stairs.  A note from their doctor stating they can use the stairs is required to clear them for stair use.
    • If your child reports to the health office and appears injured, you will be asked to pick them up, and have them evaluated by your family physician.  A note from the physician will be required in  order for your child to return to school.
    • For all injuries/ assistive devices a medical note is required to excuse your child from gym.  A note from the same physician is required to return your child to gym/ sport activities.

     

    HEALTH SCREENING INFORMATION

    Throughout the school year, your child will be receiving a variety of health screenings to maintain an optimal level of health and fitness.

    Below are the screenings your child will receive during the school year as per the New Jersey State School Health Services Guidelines:

    HEARING SCREENING:  Grades Kindergarten, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10 and Learning Center classes

                Referral will be sent home if student does not respond at 20dB HL in either ear

    VISION SCREENING:  Grades Kindergarten, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 and Learning Center classes

                Referral will be sent for visual acuity of 20/40 and below

    SCOLIOSIS SCREENING: Any child 10 years and older

    Referral will be sent home for any abnormality noted

    HEIGHT AND WEIGHT and BLOOD PRESSURE:  All students

    Referral will be sent in accordance with the criteria outlined in the New Jersey State School Health Services Guidelines.

    If you do not want your child to participate in any of the above screenings, you must send a written statement to the school nurse and your child’s physician must complete the required screenings.